Skip to main content
'''The University of Southern Mississippi''', known informally as '''Southern Miss''', is a public research university located in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. It is situated north of Gulfport, Mississippi and northeast of New Orleans, Louisiana.[] Southern Miss is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) to award bachelor's degree|baccalaureate, master's degree|master's, Specialist degree|specialist, and doctorate|doctoral academic degree|degrees. The university is classified by the Carnegie Foundation as a "Research University" with "High Research Activity" (designation "RU/H"). Founded on March 30, 1910, the university is a dual campus institution, with the main campus located in Hattiesburg and the Gulf Park campus located in Long...
Former namesMississippi Normal College
Mississippi State Teachers College
Mississippi Southern College
Motto| established = {{start date|1910|03|30}}
TypeState university system (United States)|Public University
Academic affiliation{{unbulleted list|American Association of State Colleges and Universities|AASCU|Association of Public and Land-grant Universities|APLU|Southeastern Universities Research Association|SURA|Oak Ridge Associated Universities|ORAU}}
CityHattiesburg, Mississippi|Hattiesburg
PresidentRodney D. Bennett
ProvostSteven Moser
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid